Waste Policy

EU politicians pledge to make Europe zero waste


16 Apr 2019

Written by

ZWE Staff


EU politicians pledge to make Europe zero waste

On May 26 2019, European citizens will cast their vote to elect the 700 Members of the European Parliament who will represent them for the next term, and influence the colour of the next Commission.

In a historical moment when the EU is facing a range of social and environmental challenges that will shape its future, Zero Waste Europe calls on the decision makers of the next mandate to stand for a zero waste circular economy.

Over the last five years, the EU has taken ambitious steps towards a more sustainable society, such as the adoption of the Circular Economy Package and the EU Plastics Strategy, including a pioneer directive to slash single-use plastics. Yet, a zero waste circular economy is still far from being achieved: it is time for the EU to finish what it started.

Read the full pledge here

Championed by MEP Adina Valean, the pledge has been enthusiastically received by Members of the European Parliament across the political spectrum, with representatives from different groups joining the call and committing to work for a zero waste Europe.

The list of signatories also include candidates to lead the next European Commission Ska Keller, Bas Eickout, Oriol Junqueras and Manfred Weber.

Citizens all across Europe are embracing Zero Waste solutions in lifestyles, businesses and local policies, and rejecting false solutions, despite a system that still rewards and facilitates wasteful practices. The time is ripe to make Europe truly circular.

The Europe we want is one that preserves valuable resources whilst generating local jobs, increasing the resilience of our communities and standing up for environmental justice.

We thank all signatories for their precious commitment, and we call on all European parties and elected individuals to join the pledge.

Sign the pledge here

Check out the full list of supporters

Adina Valean, EPP, Romania Kathleen Van Brempt, S&D, Belgium
Alessia Cerentin, La Sinistra, Italy Klaus Buchner, Greens / EFA, Germany
Angelique Delahaye, EPP, France Lynn Boylan, GUE / NGL, Ireland
Anna Záborská, EPP, Slovakia Magdalena Popowska, Greens / EFA, Poland
Bas Eickhout, Greens / EFA, the Netherlands Manfred Weber, EPP, Germany
Bodil Valero, Greens / EFA, Sweden Maria Spyraki, EPP, Greece
Brando Benifei, S&D, Italy Marina Albiol Guzman, GUE / NGL, Spain
Constanze Krehl, S&D, Germany Martina Michels, GUE / NGL, Germany
Damiano Zoffoli, S&D, Italy Mercedes Bresso, S&D, Italy
Daniel Buda, EPP, Romania Michele Rivasi, Greens / EFA, France
Dario Tamburrano, EFDD, Italy Nermine Simončič, Greens / EFA, Slovenia
Davor Škrlec, Greens / EFA, Croatia Oriol Junqueras i Vies, Greens / EFA, Spain
Diana Riba i Giner, Greens / EFA, Spain Paul Brannen, S&D, UK
Domna Saviča, Greens / EFA,  Slovenia Pavel Telička, ALDE, Czechia
Doru-Claudian Frunzulica, S&D, Romania Piernicola Pedicini, EFDD, Italy
Eleonora Forenza, GUE / NGL, Italy Raquel Correa i Domenech, Greens / EFA, Spain
Frederique Ries, ALDE, Belgium Romana Tomc, EPP, Slovenia
Guillaume Balas, S&D, France Ivan Štefanec, EPP, Slovakia Sirpa Pietikainen, EPP, Finland
Jadwiga Wisniewska, ECR, Poland Ska Keller, Greens / EFA, Germany
Jakop Dalunde, Greens / EFA, Sweden Terry Reintke, Greens / EFA, Germany
Jo Leinen, S&D, Germany Theresa Griffin, S&D, UK
Jordi Solé i Ferrando, Greens / EFA, Spain Tiemo Wölken, S&D, Germany
Jose Inacio Faria, EPP, Portugal Tilly Metz, Greens / EFA, Luxembourg
Jude Kirton-Darling, S&D, UK Urša Zgojznik, Greens / EFA, Slovenia
Julie Ward, S&D, UK Viktor Uspaskich, ALDE, Lithuania
Karl-Heinz Florenz, EPP, Germany